Recipes

Week 31 | Recipe 31: Grilled Sweet Potatoes

Week 31 | Recipe 31: Grilled Sweet Potatoes


Have you been doing this all your life already? If you say yes, I don’t want to hear you, because I haven’t and I can’t explain how ridiculously easy and amazing this is! I’m not joking, I can’t joke when it comes to this recipe.

I would also be very jealous if you’ve been eating this recipe for some time, and I have not.

I don’t know why since my love of sweet potatoes has started that this simple recipe never even occurred to me.

Now… without further adieu…

Grilled Sweet Potatoes

Prep time: 10 min.
Cook time: 5-6 min.
Total time: 15 min.

Serves: 2-4 {depending on your love for sweet potatoes}

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 Tbsp oil {ie: olive oil, avocado oil, sunflower oil, etc.}
  • Salt + Pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder

Directions:

  1. Peel the sweet potatoes and wash lightly.
  2. Using your mandolin and guard attachment {now, no hurting yourself here folks} cut sweet potatoes ~1/4 inch thick.
  3. Heat grill, using the medium-high heat, depending on how hot your grill can get. {I used our outdoor girl and medium heat was perfect, and also used our indoor grill plate and high was best inside}
  4. Place cut sweet potatoes in a large bag/bowl and add oil + spices. Shake well to cover the potatoes.
  5. Cook ~5-6 minutes each side
  6. Enjoy immediately! No really, devour now!

{TRUTH}
– If you’re a great chef and are capable of cutting these bad boys uniformly, go right ahead and use your knife. I’m a scaredy cat and can NOT manage to cut sweet potatoes in a normal fashion without hurting myself or others.
– You can play with flavors here ya’ll— think spicy or sweet, or just a little salt and pepper. Easy to change up depending on the meal too! YUM!

It feels good, eating things that aren’t too terribly awful for you, and really enjoying it!
What spices would you use? The possiblities are endless!
~SJW

Leave a Reply

