Recipes

Week 28 | Recipe 28: Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Week 28 | Recipe 28: Easy Chicken Enchiladas


I’m actually writing this while it’s baking and I’m also watching “Blue Bloods”- is there anyone else out there that’s obsessed with the show? The cast, the acting, the plot- I’m a fan all around.
Ok- back to the topic at hand- enchiladas, easy ones, and delicious ones. {They’re also incredibly CHEESY!}

I had some items on hand- went with it- and then there was this awesome recipe happening. I cheated and used this site for a reference point. Her recipe looks super tasty as well- and I give credit for finding this site to Pinterest.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes
Total time: 60 minutes

Serves: 8 people, generously

Ingredients

  • 3-4 cups cooked and shredded chicken
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 c. plain greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp parsley, dried
  • 2 (10 oz) cans red enchilada sauce
  • 4 c. shredded mexican cheese
  • 8-10 flour tortillas, large

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Heat olive oil over medium heat and add the onions- cook until translucent and stirring often. Combine chicken with onions in the frying pan. Stir until combined.
  3. Pour 1/3 to 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce over the chicken and onion mixture – you can use just enough to coat the chicken.
  4. Add greek yogurt and dried parsley, stir until combined, once the greek yogurt and parsley are fully combined, add 2 1/2 cups of the shredded cheese. Mix to combine and turn off heat.
  5. Pour about 1/4 cup of enchilada sauce in a baking dish to cover the bottom of the dish. 
  6. Fill the tortillas with the chicken mixture, as much as you’d like. Roll the tortilla and place in the baking dish, repeat until you fill your baking dish. {The chicken filling easily filled 10 tortillas.} 
  7. Pour enchilada sauce over the completed tortillas and spread evenly over the top, as best you can. Top with remaining shredded cheese, cover with foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove the foil for the last 10 minutes of cooking {keep it, you can use it for the fridge storage later}. Cook until sauce is bubbling and the cheese is melted.

{TRUTH}
-I saved some of the filling to eat by itself later- no lie. SOOO yummy!
-I found these little cilantro cubes at the local Giant store {like bullion cubes, but for cilantro}- and I threw in a block with the chicken mixture and I think it added a little kick of flavor.

This was delicious by itself- but since I was already going overboard with yummy I added some sazon and cilantro cooked rice, and a heaping spoonful of some refried beans. My belly is so full- and yes- I’m eating these delicious enchiladas while I type, no judging allowed.

Would you add another ingredient to add another awesome layer of flavor? Tell me what you would do- I’d love to hear about it!

Here’s to happy bellies and delicious leftovers.
~SJW

Leave a Reply

