Recipes

Week 27 | Recipe 27: Irish Mule Cocktail

Week 27 | Recipe 27: Irish Mule Cocktail


While we were celebrating a friends birthday a few months back, Jeff brought this delicious concoction to the table, ready to share.  I heard of the new “craze”- Moscow Mule- but this Irish bit, that was new to me.
Then I tried it, I loved it.
Now, Jeff definitely prefers this version over the vodka one- but I also like the Moscow version if I use Tito’s vodka {after my “all-knowing” sister-in-law taught me that ways of proper alcohol consumption}.

Needless to say, it was a hot evening- with a slight breeze, and Jeff and I were craving a nice drink… but specifically an Irish Mule… so much so that Jeff had to run out and get a few of the ingredients we needed to partake in said cocktail. He’s a GEM!

Enjoy!

Irish Mule Cocktail

Ingredients

  • 1.5 oz Irish Whiskey {Jeff likes Jameson best}
  • 4-6 oz alcoholic ginger beer
  • Lime wedges
  • Mint {optional}
  • Bitters {optional}

Directions

  1. Fill a glass with ice {copper mug is preferred, but we’re not picky here}, pour in your whiskey and fill remaining glass with ginger beer. Use a large lime wedge, squeeze over drink and place on lip of glass. Splash with bitters, and top with a sprig of mint.
  2. Enjoy cold!

{TRUTH}
-If you would prefer the Moscow version: omit the whiskey and use vodka {of your choosing} and leave out the bitters.
-There are a million different version— which are ALL new to me, including a pineapple Moscow version and here are about 24 others!

Have ya’ll seen this cocktail before? I truly feel like as of late I’m seeing it more… but that could also be due to my lack of spending time out with normal people. Haha.

Cheers! Share with friends, or drink a few yourself- totally worth it.

~SJW

Leave a Reply

