Recipes

Week 21 | Recipe 21: Drop Biscuits

Week 21 | Recipe 21: Drop Biscuits


The other day, I needed a quick biscuit idea to accompany some freakin’ amazing shepherd’s pie. I needed it to be quick so I didn’t take away time with the shepherd’s pie, but also because I had limited ingredients on hand.
A few tid-bits:
-They are delicious.
-You have ALL the ingredients already, I swear it.
-They are so stupid versatile that you’ll make them for EVERYTHING!

Here goes- you’ll want to thank me later, I know it.

Drop Biscuits

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 12 minutes
Total time: 22 minutes

Serves: 7 persons or ~15 biscuits

Ingredients

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 2-3 Tbsp white sugar {varies depending on how sweet you want them}
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. butter, melted {unsalted is best}
  • 1 c. milk

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 450’F. Mix together flour, baking soda, sugar, and salt.
  2. Add melted butter and milk to dry ingredients, stir just until moistened. {Best to let the butter cool slightly before mixing with other ingredients}
  3. Immediately drop dough by heaping tablespoon full onto lightly greased large baking sheet.
  4. Cook ~10-12 minutes until golden brown, top with butter.

{TRUTH}
-These were so good, warm or cold… and I can’t even lie, I ate way more of these than I’ll ever admit to. Jeff was eating them every second he could! So perfectly delicious.
-I ate mine with honey + butter, some jam + butter, and I know they’d pair well with stew/soups as well.

So yummy!
Think of the different things you can add to the “batter”- cheese, spices/herbs, some chopped fruit {or served with fruit over it}.
Goodness me, they are so yummy!

Happy biscuits ya’ll!
~SJW

Leave a Reply

