Recipes

Week 16 | Recipe 16: Easy Shrimp Boil

Week 16 | Recipe 16: Easy Shrimp Boil


Ok… I have a love for shrimp. Jeff does not. That’s ok, we do just fine in our food ventures.
That being said- we had a very large barbecue this past weekend, which was full of humidity and some seriously great food and lots of laughter! We are big advocates for a wicked good get-together and love to do things with friends and co-workers [which essentially end up in the same category].
I saw this recipe while scouring my phone, and was immediately sure it was going to happen and I was unsure how it was going to turn out… you try it, tell me.

Old-Fashioned Shrimp Boil

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 260 minutes
Total Time:  ~4 hours

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 1/2 c. water
  • 8 small red, uncooked, red potatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
  • 2 bulbs uncooked fennel, trimmed and halved through the root [I discarded the rest of the fennel- the stem portion]
  • 2 Tbsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 24 large uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 medium corn on the cob, husked, silk removed and broken in half

 

Instructions

  1. Add enough water to come a quarter of the way up the inside of a 4 to 5 quart slow cooker. Add potatoes, fennel, garlic and the Old Bay Seasoning; stir well. Cover and cook on low for 4 hours.
  2. Add shrimp and corn; stir well. Cover and cook on high for 20 minues, or until shrimp are pink and firm and potatoes are tender. Drain in a very large colander set in sink, and pour into a large platter to serve.

{TRUTH}
*I used frozen mini corn on the cob- worked perfect.
*I was expecting more flavor- I’m not sure why- I’ve never had a shrimp boil before. I want to try this again, I’m unsure how to add more flavor, but I’m determined to make it work. There is flavor here, but I was looking for a more “intense” flavor.

There were a few people who said they really liked it- and I most certainly think I’d like to try it with changing out the shrimp for crab!

Have you ever eaten a shrimp boil? Where? It’s as awesome as it is in my mind, right? I knew it!

Happy eating!

~SJW

Leave a Reply

