Recipes

Week 10 | Recipe 10: Oven Roasted Vegetables

Week 10 | Recipe 10: Oven Roasted Vegetables


Ok- so guess who is trying to eat a little more healthy these days? You guessed- it’s me. Veggies aren’t scarce around these parts, but the hubs certainly isn’t a huge fan of them that’s no lie. So… I recently had “fried” brussel sprouts which were basically amazing wrapped in awesome! I don’t “normally” do brussel sprouts, because they not only sound super healthy but I don’t care of “mushy” vegetables and that’s how I think of brussel sprouts. I’ve been proven wrong- on multiple occasions now. So that leaves us; fried is no good these days, trying to stick to healthy, so instead I decided to roast them. Crispy but not fried. Sold.

Simple and delicious.

Done!

Oven Roasted Veggies {Broccoli + Cauliflower + Brussel Sprouts}

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 15-20 minutes
Total time: 30 minutes

Serves: 3-4 people

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 c. chopped broccoli florets
  • 1 c. chopped cauliflower florets
  • 1.5 c. brussel sprouts, sliced in half
  • 4 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400’F.
  2. Chop vegetables into ~2 inch pieces
  3. Toss the veggies in olive oil with kosher salt + pepper
  4. Spread evenly over parchment paper/foil lined baking sheet, in one layer
  5. Cook 15-25 minutes, until veggies are slightly crisp and no longer raw

{TRUTH}
I probably used WAY more olive oil than I should have to keep it healthy, but I was shoveling these bad boys into my mouth, with my hands, no lie here.
Definitely use the kosher salt, the crunch just adds in awesomeness.
I used NON-frozen veggies here ya’ll, I imagine that does make a difference in the crispy’ness of the veggies. {FYI}

 

Here’s to eating your vegetables and liking it!
~SJW

Leave a Reply

