Recipes

Week 6 | Recipe 6: Eggdrop Soup

Week 6 | Recipe 6: Eggdrop Soup


 

This gem is from a cookbook we received from a friend and we are so grateful! I’ve used the book many times, and through this recipe journey we have here, we’ll try another few.
Book: “The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook” {Revised Edition}
You can find it here, and I’m only including the link because I truly love this cookbook. There are fool-proof tips, great instructional photos, lots of additional ideas, and just an all around great cookbook to have in your kitchen. I’ll try not to repeat this spiel every time.

Egg Drop Soup

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
Total time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 80 oz chicken broth {I halved it for us, so 40 oz}
  • 1 {2 inch} piece ginger, sliced and smashed
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch
  • 2 Tbs water
  • 2 Scallions, sliced thin
  • 2 Tbs minced fresh cilantro
  • 4 large eggs, slightly beaten

Instructions:

  1. Bring the broth, ginger, soy sauce, and garlic to a simmer in a large dutch oven over medium-high heat. Cook for 10 minutes.
  2. Strain the broth. Return the broth to the pot and bring to a simmer. Whisk the cornstarch and water together in small bowl. Whisk the cornstarch mixture into the broth and cook until thickened, about 1 minute. Stir in the scallions and cilantro.
  3. Stir the soup gently so that it is moving in a circle. Keep stirring as you pour in the eggs in a slow, stready stream to form ribbons of cooked egg. Remove the soup from the heat and let stand for 2 minutes. Break up the eggs using a fork. Season with salt and pepper to taste before serving.

{TRUTHS}
*Jeff did not like this as much as he likes the “real” stuff from the restaurant. It certainly looked the part! I was surprised when the recipe called for cilantro, and Jeff says that’s all he tastes when he eats it. I liked it- and added my own salt and pepper to my liking- though you could certainly work it the other way. One note- my eggs did NOT break up easily, so maybe I didn’t “beat” them enough, but I was able to break it up with a fork while in the pot. I’m not sure what I would change this next time- Jeff says not to use the cilantro, but I think it helps with flavor.

Try it- tell me what you did, what would you change? I’ll certainly try this again, and maybe make some slight changes- I’ll keep you posted.

Happy eating!
~SJW

 

Leave a Reply

