Recipes

Week 5 | Recipe 5: Sweet Potato Hash with Fried Eggs

Week 5 | Recipe 5: Sweet Potato Hash with Fried Eggs


Well- the bad news is… I have a cavity and they want to do a root canal {I had a long visit at the dentist this morning, just in case you were wondering}.

The GREAT news is–  this recipe is STUPID good. So good in fact, I’m glad I didn’t make the full recipe- not only would I have to change my pants {into stretchy ones} but I also would likely feel miserable from eating too much food.
While at work a few weeks back, I switched the TV to the Food Network channel {because sometimes the HGTV channel repeats episodes and I needed a break}. Then, I glanced up in between clients and saw Nancy Fuller {aka: Farmhouse Rules} making this dish and immediately looked it up, printed it, and decided I had to have it.

I kid you not, I will certainly do this again. This would be a delicious meal for breakfast, lunch {what I had today}, or even for dinner! SCORE!

Sweet Potato Hash with Fried Eggs

Prep time: 45 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes
Total time: 1 hour + 10 minutes
{NOTE: this was time-consuming, from start to finish we are looking at about and hour and 15 minutes. It’s worth it, that’s no joke.}

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes (or ~2.5 pounds)
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 4 c. baby spinach
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 c. parmesan,grated
  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • kosher salt + black pepper
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 8 fresh basil leaves, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400’F.
  2. Place sweet potatoes on baking sheet, puncture with a fork and roast until tender but slightly underdone. Should be ~30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool. Peel and cut into 1-inch cubes, set aside.
    {While the sweet potatoes were cooking, I diced up the bell pepper, onion, and garlic, and put the spices together- for an easy transition to the next step.}
  3. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic, onions, and peppers and cook until soft, ~5 minutes. Add diced sweet potatoes with some salt and pppeper. Continue to cook, sitrring occasionally until potatoes are cooked through. This should take another 10-15 minutes or so. Turn heat to low and stir in the spinach.
  4. Melt butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and fry eggs until the whites are set and yolks are still runny.
  5. Spoon hash onto plate, place egg on top, garnish with parmesan and basil.


{TRUTHS}

*I did not have fresh basil and had already gone to the store- I threw in about a 1.5 tsp of dried basil and felt the flavor was still there. Of course, fresh is always better- but I didn’t have the patience or the time.
*I love the “crunch” of the kosher salt in this dish!
*I halved this recipe, I knew I wouldn’t eat 4 eggs, and there was still sweet potato hash left over {breakfast for tomorrow, woot woot!}
.

I didn’t realize how much I loved sweet potatoes {without marshmallows and brown sugar covering them} until I did my “Whole30” challenge this last year. Now, I find ways to cook with them all the time. It’s something about the sweet flavor that goes so well with just about anything!!! YUM! What’s your favorite sweet potato recipe?!

Happy eating ya’ll!!
~SJW

 

Leave a Reply

