Recipes

Recipe 3 | Week 3: Gnocchi and Sausage

Week 3 | Recipe 3: Gnocchi and Sausage


This recipe was another magazine find- can you see a pattern?  I’m a sucker for design and food magazines- and when Better Homes and Gardens does both- SOLD!

Better Homes and Gardens | May 2015 issues | bhg.com

Gnocchi and Sausage

  • Prep time: 10 minutes
  • Cook time: 10 minutes
  • Total time: 20 minutes

 

Ingredients

  • 1 16-to 17.6 oz. package of shelf-stable potato gnocchi
  • 1 14- to 17 oz. package uncooked sweet Italian-flavored chicken sausage links, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1 medium yellow sweet pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1/2 c. onion, cut into slivers
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 roma tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 c. arugula

Instructions

1. Cook gnocchi according to package directions. Drain, reserving 1/3 cup liquid. Set gnocchi and liquid aside.
2.  In a large skillet cook and stir sausage sliced, sweet pepper, onion, and garlic over medium-high heat for 3 minutes. Add gnocchi, tomatoes, arugula, and reserved liquid to skillet. Heat through, gently stirring mixture occasionally.
Makes 4 servings.

EACH SERVING: 368 cal., 9 g fat, 76 mg chol, 911 mg sodium, 50 g carb, 5 g fiber, 22 g pro.

 

“Easy switch-up! Sausage is the flavor backbone of this dish, so try different varieties.”

I can remember watching my mom slice kielbasa and throw some peppers and onions into a saute pan. I loved the smell, I loved eating it, I loved how easy it was to throw together and cook. I must have been in my teens- and was chatting with her about it while it cooked- and the very next day I made it {again} because I loved it so much.

This recipe is extremely similar, but you throw in my most favorite little gems {gnocchi} and I’m an even HAPPIER camper! This recipe is simple and yummy! I omitted the tomatoes, I’m not a huge fan of chunks of tomatoes- but I imagine it adds even more to the dish.

While Jeff is TDY {here’s my TDY survival post}, I pulled some recipes that I know he wouldn’t want to try… he’s not a huge fan of kielbasa so it’s usually my indulgence while Jeff is gone. There are a few others {zucchini might be involved}, you’ll see them as they make an appearance! Hoping you enjoy this easy dish!

Happy eating!
~SJW

Leave a Reply

