Recipes

Week 2|Recipe 2: Peppery White Cheddar Biscuits

Week 2 | Recipe 2: Peppery White Cheddar Biscuits


I thought along this recipe journey that it would be worth trying different types of recipes- not just entrees or desserts, which is what would have happened because those are typically the recipes I {we} make most.

In my “stash” of cooking books/magazines/cards/etc- there was a magazine I got for Christmas a few year back {yes, I still had it, no judging here} “Best Comfort Food”.

Peppery White Cheddar Biscuits

  • Prep time: 25 minutes
  • Cook time: 13-18 minutes
  • Total time: 45 minutes

Oven: 400’F

Ingredients

  • 4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. shortening
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1 + 1/2 c. shredded sharp white cheddar cheese {6 ounces}
  • 1 to 3 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1 + 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp water

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 400’F. Lightly grease a large baking sheet; set aside. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in shortening and butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in cheese and pepper. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. Add milk all at once. Stir just until moistened.
2. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead dough 10-12 times or unitl nearly smooth. Divide dough in half. Lightly roll or pat each half into a 6-inch square about 1-inch thick. Using a sharp knife, cute each dough square into 2-inch squares. Combine egg and the water; brush over tops of biscuits. Place dough squares on prepared baking sheet.
3. Bake 13-15 minutes or until golden. Remove biscuts from baking sheet; serve warm. Makes 18 biscuits.

per serving: 247 cal., 14 g fat (6 g sat.fat), 314 mg sodium, 24 g carbo., 1 g fiber, 7 g pro.

Truth- I was not in love with these biscuits! I truly thought I would, I added extra butter our of the oven, and I still couldn’t get on board. I ended up cooking them longer- they were still a bit “doughy” after 15 minutes. I’ll try this again- with Bisquick- I love the cheddar biscuit recipe on the side… real life.

Don’t let me stop you from trying these though, I want to know how they come out for you!!!

Happy eating!
~SJW

Leave a Reply

