Books

The Husband List by Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly

 

husband listTitle: The Husband List
Author:
Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly
Genre:
Romance | Historical | Fiction
Series: Culhane Family (Book 2)
Pages: 309
Format: Hardcover
Source: My little sister Mel (XOXO)
Average Rating {on Goodreads}: 3.54 stars

Sam’s Rating: 3 stars

From the Publisher:
Set in New York City in 1894, The Husband List is an American gilded age romantic mystery.
Caroline Maxwell would like nothing more than to join her brother, Eddie, and his friend, Jack Culhane, on their adventures. While Jack and Eddie are off seeing the world, buying up businesses and building wildly successful careers, Caroline’s stuck at home frightening off the men her mother hopes will ask for her hand in marriage. When her mother sets her sights on the questionable Lord Bremerton as a possible suitor, Caroline struggles with her instincts and the true nature of her heart. She longs for adventure, passion, love, and most of all . . . Jack Culhane, an unconventional Irish-American bachelor with new money and no title. A completely unacceptable suitor in the eyes of Caroline’s mother. But Caroline’s dark hair, brilliant eyes and quick wit have Jack understanding just why it is people fall in love and get married.

Sam’s Thoughts: A quick and witty read!
This is NOT Stephanie Plum, and that’s ok!
The entire time, I was rooting for Caroline and Jack- while also harboring some intense feelings towards Caroline’s mother {Agnes} and her pressure to wed Caroline. While it’s time appropriate, I struggled with the lack of free-will that Caroline was given, once again, it rings true to the time era that Evanovich & Kelly were looking for.

There’s passion here- and I loved it. I wanted more to be honest, but that’s because my usual books are a lot heavier than this one when it comes to love scenes. You most certainly understand the attraction between Caroline & Jack, and the “stolen” scenes are passionate and intense- you feel for Caroline and her heart’s desires. Who wouldn’t go weak in the knees for an Irish-American bachelor {that accent} and adventure! You experience the struggle for both Caroline and Jack and I enjoyed reading the book from both of their views, it put their relationship and what’s going on around them in a better light.

I must also give praise for a woman who can hold her own; Caroline is a smart, witty, and strong-willed woman! She stands up for what she wants, in the best way that she can, with a 6-shooter! There’s a great mixture of laughter and passion here. If you’re an Evanovich fan, I definitely suggest this.

{My 3 star rating: I liked it. I did not love it, but I definitely liked it and would suggest it to other Evanovich lovers.
I must also confess: I read this while my lovely little sister is waiting for me to mail it to her from her trip to visit us in VA- thanks for sharing sweets!}

Let me know what you thought!
~SJW

 

{Featured image by Eli Samuelu via Unsplash}
Leave a Reply

