Books

Charley Davidson Series by Darynda Jones {Updated}

first grave.jpgTitle: First Grave on the Right
Author:
Darynda Jones
Genre:
Mystery | Fiction | Thriller
Series: 1 of 11 {Charley Davidson #1}
Pages: 310 
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Average Rating {on Goodreads}: 4.07 stars

Sam’s Rating: 4 stars

From the Publisher:
This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.
Or a diagram of some kind.
A flow chart would have been nice.

Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can’t she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?

With scorching-hot tension and high-octane humor, First Grave on the Right is your signpost to paranormal suspense of the highest order.

Sam’s Thoughts: Read it & laugh!
I found this gem by accident at the library,don’t you love it when that happens? I was looking for another book {which they did not have} and saw the name of this one and I was immediately interested. Read the synopsis {above} and thought- well this is right up my alley {I’m a paranormal romance NUT!!!!}! I started it that day, and read it in a span of 3 days {mind you, I had a lot of free time}.

I love the author’s writing style for Charley, it had me in laughing fits. I want to be Charley’s friend- I think I could learn a few things from her smart witted come backs! Her sarcasm in intense moments, her banter with the people {and ghosts} around her-

I twisted around in my seat to face him. “My fore-parts, as you so ineloquently put it, have names.” I pointed to my right breast. “This is Danger.” Then my left. “And this is Will Robinson. I would appreciate it if you addressed them accordingly.”

After a long pause in which he took the time to blink several times, he asked, “You named your breasts?”

I turned my back to him with a shrug. “I named my ovaries, too, but they don’t get out as much.

This isn’t what I would consider to be a heavy paranormal fantasy book {it’s definitely PG-13 rated, with a few R rated parts}. The author gives the “ghosts” personalities, it makes you want to know more about what happened, solve the case/mystery. There is a lot going on in the book {strange entity, lust, love, death, ghosts, murders, cops who need Charley’s help…}, but that’s part of Charley’s life and what I believe makes her character so relatable and funny, she’s just trying to get through the day, alive.

When I put this book down, I immediately wanted to find the second in the series- I need to know more about Charley and Reyes {the mysterious entity}!

Let me know what you thought!
~SJW


Title: Second Grave on the Left
Author:
Darynda Jones
Genre:
Mystery | Fiction | Thriller
Series: 2 of 11 {Charley Davidson #2}
Pages: 307
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Average Rating {on Goodreads}: 4.29 stars

Sam’s Rating: 4 stars

From the Publisher:
“If you hang around with dead people, life can get pretty complicated. Take it from Charley Davidson, part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Complicated is her middle name. The deceased find her very sparkly. Demons find her irresistible. And one entity in particular wants to seduce her in every way possible.

When Charley and Cookie (her best friend/receptionist) have to track down a missing woman, the case is not quite as open and shut as they anticipate. Cookie’s friend Mimi disappeared five days earlier. Mimi then sends Cookie a cryptic message telling Cookie to meet her at an nearby coffee shop. The coffee is brewing, but Mimi’s still missing. There is, however, a clue Mimi left on the bathroom wall: a woman’s name. Mimi’s husband explains to them that his wife had been acting strange since she found out an old high school friend had been murdered. The same woman whose name Mimi had scribbled on the bathroom wall.

Meanwhile, Reyes Alexander Farrow (otherwise known as the Son of Satan. Yes. Literally) has left his corporeal body and is haunting Charley. He’s left his body because he’s being tortured by demons who want to lure Charley closer. But Reyes can’t let that happen. Because if the demons get to Charley, they’ll have a portal to heaven…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be pretty.

Can Charley handle hot nights with Reyes and even hotter days tracking down a missing woman? Can she keep those she loves out of harm’s way? And is there enough coffee and chocolate in the world to fuel her as she does?”

Sam’s Thoughts: Read it & laugh AGAIN!
Sometimes, just sometimes, I pick up the second book in a series and wonder if it will be as good as the first…. Darynda Jones did not disappoint and I’m so excited to keep reading this hilariously erotic series!
Charley is honestly such a brilliant personality- her whit, her sarcasm, her thought process- I’m contstantly laughing and feeling like I know her personally.

I wouldn’t say this ends up with a “cliff-hanger”, but again, I was left with the feeling that I needed to read the 3rd book ASAP. I’m just as eager and with jus as muc hope that the next books to follow are just as awesome!

~SJW



Title: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Author: Darynda Jones
Genre:
Mystery | Fiction | Thriller
Series: 3 of 11 {Charley Davidson #3}
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Average Rating {on Goodreads}: 4.39 stars

 

Sam’s Rating: 4 stars

From the Publisher:
Third in the award-winning paranormal series that’s “hilarious and heartfelt, sexy and surprising.” J.R. Ward

Paranormal private eye. Grim reaper extraordinaire. Whatever. Charley Davidson is back! And she’s drinking copious amounts of caffeine to stay awake because, every time she closes her eyes, she sees him: Reyes Farrow, the part-human, part-supermodel son of Satan. Yes, she did imprison him for all eternity, but come on. How is she supposed to solve a missing persons case, deal with an ego-driven doctor, calm her curmudgeonly dad, and take on a motorcycle gang hellbent on murder when the devil’s son just won’t give up?”

Sam’s Thoughts: Starts steamy, stays funny, read the 3rd gem here!
Ya’ll got went through this one in 2 days, I was entranced to see Reyes and Charley continue their “death” tango… whit is still present here, and the steamy parts are just as great. Things change up drastically in this one, no spoilers here, but that’s part of why I had to keep reading, REYES ya’ll, REYES!

There’s an introduction of a few potential key players in this book as well- I’m interested to see where these new characters end up and if Darynda Jones keeps them in the books to follow.

Can I also just say- her obsession with chocolate and coffee continue- it’s like we’re soul sisters or something. Just syaing.

~SJW


Save

Leave a Reply

