Recipes

Prep, Freeze, and Saute Cauliflower Rice

Long title, easy to do, I promise.

During my Whole30 journey, I was in desperate need of a rice “filler” (since rice is considered a “NO GO” on Whole30)… I needed something to bulk up some of my meals, make it feel a little less like I was starving and more like I was indulging (but without the indulgent part).

In comes the cauliflower rice.

I should also state, this took a lot of will power for me- prepping the cauliflower- for some reason I can not stand the smell of raw cauliflower nor am I a true fan of cauliflower florets- unless there’s cheese, ranch, or more cheese involved.

I did it though, without the cheese or ranch. True story. It was worth it too!

You have options here folks, but I’ll just let you know my process and you can make changes however you feel works for you!

pots and pans.jpg
Image by Scott Umstattd via Unsplash

What you need:
1 head of cauliflower
Paper Towels
Air tight freeze containers/bags
Food processor (some people use their blenders, that’s a different method I haven’t tried)
Saute Pan
Olive Oil
Seasoning of you choice (no seriously, whatever you want to add to the “rice”, it will literally take on any flavor you throw at it.)


Directions:
-First, wash your cauliflower. Dirt doesn’t typically hurt (ya know that adorable saying for kids) but it’s not all that dandy when you bite down on a grainy piece of it. Blurgh.
-Towel dry the head of cauliflower, as best you can. Cut it into small pieces, setting on another towel to continue to dry. (Don’t skip this step, it’s important that the cauliflower is a dry as possible, as it will stick to EVERYTHING!) Discard the stem and any greens.
-Depending on the size of your food processor, add about 1 cup to 1.5 cups of the chopped cauliflower to your processor and pulse. Pulse the cauliflower until it resembles the texture of rice (small pieces)- BE SURE NOT TO OVER PULSE, YOU WILL GET MUSHY CAULIFLOWER, NOT GOOD! Use your best judgement here ya’ll.
-From here, you can saute right away (YAY!) or you can get it ready to freeze.
To Freeze:
-Ensure your cauliflower rice is dry, I laid out paper towels on the counter and poured the cauliflower bits onto it and then covered at them with another layer of paper towels and pressed down to get the extra water out after the food processor. (Sounds like a lot, but to ensure they don’t get frost bite or stick together it’s necessary.)
-After that, simply bag them or put them in the desired freezer friendly container of your choosing. I bagged them in about .5 cup portions so I could just grab and saute.

*If sealed properly, the cauliflower rice should last up to 6 months in the freezer
*To minimize space, lay them flat and get most of the air out of the bags- you can lay them on each other in the freezer
*You can thaw the bags in the fridge the day before, or defrost in the microwave, but I simply threw them in the saute pan right from the freezer with no issues

(Side note: buying cauliflower rice at the stores also works great, however, I paid nearly the same price for a 1 pound head of cauliflower that produced nearly 5-6 servings of “rice” while a bag at my local grocery store gave me about 3-4 servings.
Also- I experienced a lot of STRAY cauliflower bits, like it was snowing in my kitchen, and it stuck to EVERYTHING! Be sure to dry your cauliflower properly, I think that was part of the issue. Still, totally worth it.)

 

Here are a few recipes I found- I haven’t tried them (I sauteed mine with assorted spices), but they sure sound delicious and they are in my recipe book NOW!

  1. Cilantro Lime Cauliflower Rice– what?! I’ll say that 5 more times and I’ll still want it just as much! Holy yum folks.
    Cauliflower-Rice-005_680name
    2. Garlic Parmesan Cauliflower Rice– stop the presses ya’ll! Cheese and cauliflower, this is exactly that I need in my life!!! I’m stoked to get this in my belly, like last week! (Watch this, since it has cheese, it’s not Whole30 compliant, but still worth a try!)
    garlic-parmesan-cauliflower-rice-2.jpgEnjoy!
    ~SJW
2 thoughts on “Prep, Freeze, and Saute Cauliflower Rice

    1. Heather-
      Well, that makes sense! I didn’t even think of that, silly me! I’ll have to try that next.
      I’m so glad ya’ll like it, it’s nice to WANT healthy food and like it.
      Haha, I’m glad I’m not the only one with the smell issue!

      Like

Leave a Reply

