Recipes

Chicken & Kale Soup

Who loves Olive Garden’s Toscana soup? [Just raise your hand, I know you do, and if you don’t- I don’t know if we can be friends! I’m joking… or am I?] I could eat just the soup and bread sticks, that’s no joke. Since I can’t seem to find spicy-italian-sausage that is Whole30 compliant I decided to make a recipe that works for Whole30 but also with ingredients I had on hand.

just-soup-picjumbo-com
Image by Viktor Hanacek via PicJumbo

Chicken & Kale Soup
-1 1/2 c. chicken broth
-1 1/2 c. vegetable broth
[Total 3 cups, you can use just one if you want]
-1/4 c. coconut cream
[That deliciousness that’s on top of the can after refrigerating coconut milk]
-1 medium potato chopped, about 1/4 inch pieces
[I left the skin on]
-2 c. kale, chopped
-9-10 oz. can chicken, in broth or water
-1/4 c. white onion, diced
-1 tsp. minced garlic, dried
-1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
[I used about 1 tsp. to heighten the spicy flavor and make up for the lack of spicy sausage]
-salt and pepper to taste
-dash of Italian seasoning
[see this post!]

Add the broth, coconut cream, and potato to a large saucepan. Simmer while cutting the reaming ingredients [this gives the potato time to cook longer]. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer for about 45 minutes, or until potato is tender to fork touch.

Serve this soup with fruit or a big crusty piece of non-Whole30 approved bread!

.SJW.

Leave a Reply

