Recipes

Spices, oh my!

A few “from-scratch” spices I’ve used along this Whole30 journey, and that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed.

Italian seasoning mix-
-3 tbsp basil, dried
-1 tbsp minced garlic, dried
-1 tsp onion powder
-2.5 tbsp parsley, dried
-1 tsp Rosemary, dried {this was the yummy-ness that I dehydrated, like a boss}
-1 tsp thyme, dried
-1/4 tsp black pepper
-1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

*This mix I’ve added to my soups, as a marinade with EVOO for chicken, and anywhere they ask for Italian seasoning in recipes.


Cajun Seasoning mix-
-1 tablespoon smoked paprika
-2 teaspoons salt
-2 teaspoons garlic powder
-1 teaspoon ground black pepper
-1 teaspoon onion powder
-1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
-1 1/4 teaspoons dried oregano
-1 1/2 teaspoons dried thyme
-3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes {totally optional}

*This is a solve all really! Shrimp, chicken, salmon, potatoes, ground beef, ground turkey- I add to just about anything I’d like some spice to.


Fajita Seasoning mix-
-1 tsp Garlic powder
-1 tsp Onion powder
-3 tsp Oregano, dried
-1 tsp Parsley
-4 tsp Black pepper
-1/4 cup Chili powder
-2 tsp Paprika
-1 tbsp Salt
-2 tbsp Cumin, ground

*This was delicious as a marinade for Whole30 compliant fajitas I made! EVOO with peppers, onion, and chicken- YUM!


Blackened Rib Rub-
-1/4 c. garlic powder
-1/4 c. onion powder
-1/4 c. thyme
-6 tbsp. paprika
-4 tsp. black pepper
-4 tsp. cayenne pepper
-4 tsp. basil
-4 tsp. oregano

*I did not use this much, I cut the recipe in half and it was still plenty for 2 racks of ribs. It doesn’t compare to Jeff’s rub mix, but his has all sorts of non-Whole30 deliciousness in it! He even approved, which had me beaming with pride.

download
Image by Todd Quackenbush via Unsplash

I hope you enjoy!
Let me know what you make- I’m interested in how they work for you and always for NEW and GREAT recipes!

.SJW.

Save

Leave a Reply

